Photography by Gerry Frederick

Winter Rams

In live and wonder in the Canadian Rockies. That being said I am blessed with an abundance of wildlife all around me, if you know where to look. I’m also pretty lucky in that I don’t have to travel far in most cases to get the photos I want. Since early December I’ve been on a hunt to capture two big horn sheep butting heads. While I did get a shot it’s not a great one. In the process I did get some good photos of some of the sheep in the heard of nearly 60 animals. The rams challenging each other is hard to capture. Most of the time you hear it and don’t see it. Or in my case it was going on behind the trees. I have been on location several times this last month and hold the hope I will get the shot I want. I will post it when I get it, cross your fingers.

201312249_37 s 201312249_41 s 201312249_77 s 201312249_79 s 201312249_88 s 201312249_92 s Walking Ram

3 responses

  1. You still got some good shots. Especially their heads. Good lighting and detail.

    January 5, 2014 at 11:27 am

  2. Thank you Ken I found if I stand pretty still long enough they walk by fairly close sometimes, (25meters). At that point it’s easy to get a good shot. The details of the horns are great even the ones with the damage from all the fighting
    Gerry

    January 5, 2014 at 11:41 am

  3. Wow Gerry these are superb!!!

    February 5, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Leave a Reply

