Photography by Gerry Frederick

Photo contest finalist

I recently entered a photo contest in my home province of British Columbia calling for photos that would present my photographic abilities. The contest boosts that it will unveil the “Best amateur photographer of B.C.” or something like that. For once I took the submission call pretty seriously. I do enter a few contests from time to time. Most often to compare my stuff to others. Nice to know how you measure up sometimes. I get surprised and once in a while get pretty close to winning or a least the top two or three. Because this contest is based in my home province I thought I would send the full list of allowed submissions. I was able to send a total of five photos. After several hours of short listing from as many as 300 I was able to reduce the first list of a couple dozen to only the five I was allowed to submit. It was sure hard to cut the list down. I wanted to show a good cross section of the photos I like best so these are the five I picked. As it turned out I was selected as a finalist and I am off to shoot with about twenty other finalists representing their regions of the province. I should know how it all turns out by Sunday night. I’ll let you good or bad…..

Bull dog size Keep me warm size Mark Creek Falls size Shallow water size alone in the sun

2 responses

  1. KidazzleInk

    Great captures.

    August 7, 2013 at 1:18 am

  2. I would say you made the right choices for submission to the contest. All the best Gerry. Can’t wait to see where you place!

    August 7, 2013 at 10:11 am

Leave a Reply

