Photography by Gerry Frederick

A Room With A View

   Not all history comes to us by video. Photographers have always been drawn to history in still life. I’m the same as all my predecessors when it comes right down to standing in front of history. Old run down buildings have little left to offer but history. Even if we don’t know the details of all the years of activity the building once enjoyed we do know that there must be stories to tell if that old building could only talk. We can even speculate as to the goings on when we see these structures in their current state. In most cases they don’t owe us anything, they have served their purpose. But do we owe them anything? Most certainly we do. And one of the best ways we can show our respect is to not rip them down or burn them to the ground but to leave them be and let nature do the rest. This way they can be enjoyed for years to come by fools like me.

4 responses

  1. avian101

    Very nice pictures Gerry! 🙂

    July 2, 2012 at 11:55 am

  2. Oh, how I love these photos. I am completely fascinated by old buildings. My favorite is the first one. I always wonder about the lives who lived in the old buildings.

    July 2, 2012 at 5:56 pm

  3. With the cost to live I’m surprised anything is abandonded these days. You captured the emptiness and age. Great photos.

    July 10, 2012 at 10:14 am

  4. Super photos Gerry! I love to photograph old building also. I often wonder the stories they could tell!

    July 24, 2012 at 8:49 am

Leave a Reply

