Photography by Gerry Frederick

Winter water fall

Water falls are great subjects to photograph. They stay still and you have all the time in the world to set your camera adjustments. Not so when your shooting flying geese or swimming ducks. I make a quarterly pilgrimage to Mark Creek falls at the change of every season to see if I can better the last set of photos from the season before. The falls change little so the subject is getting somewhat stale. I run the risk of just adding more of the same. This year I wanted to get some of the same shots I have already on file but this time with the addition of more snow and ice. After I found my first spot I noticed that the ice was pretty dirty and littered with debris. This made for a rather unpleasant photo as I looked through the viewfinder. I tried to over come this by just over exposing the shot a little to make the ice and snow a little washed out. a little tough with the bright sun shining through the trees. The ND filter helped and it worked to a degree. Perhaps this weekend if there is more cloud cover would solve some of the exposure issues. Some fixing can be done in post but in general I got what I was after. Much to my surprise my wife was taking her own photos with one of my back up cameras and now a have a few photos of me taking photos. My primary set up was; Canon 50D -17/85 is lens. Most were shot at f22-f32 at 1.2-1.7 seconds ISO 100.

15 responses

  1. geoffwatt

    Every time I see shots like this I remind myself that “I must get an ND filter!”

    March 29, 2012 at 9:06 am

  2. Very nice! And thanks for posting the photo of you as well.

    March 29, 2012 at 10:53 am

  3. Nicely done Gerry…it’s hard to pick a favorite!

    March 29, 2012 at 11:49 am

  4. These are amazing. I tried some similar shots the other day and was so dissatisfied I wouldn’t post to my blog instead I just put them on facebook

    March 29, 2012 at 1:12 pm

  5. avian101

    Excellent shots! 🙂

    March 30, 2012 at 10:15 am

  6. Beautiful winter captures!

    March 30, 2012 at 3:14 pm

  7. WOW. I don’t think in my entire life I will take such beautiful photographs. Just beautiful.

    March 31, 2012 at 2:00 pm

  8. Hard rock and soft flowing water is a great combination for these perfect photos Gerry.
    The snow is a interesting texture here.

    April 1, 2012 at 6:07 am

    • Thank you for your commnet. I have an earlier post with photos of the same location taken last fall. I invite you to have a look. Thx again.
      Gerry

      April 1, 2012 at 7:48 am

  9. these are amazing

    April 3, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    • Thank you very much for taking the time to review my photos and your encouraging comments.
      Gerry

      April 4, 2012 at 6:32 pm

  10. These are so beautiful. Reminds me of my time in Maine, and a little of my time, right now, in ND. Mostly flat here, but the snow is familiar.

    April 21, 2012 at 10:38 am

  11. Wow – spectacular shots!

    April 27, 2012 at 1:10 am

  12. Love these shots – Beautiful!!!

    August 18, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Leave a Reply

