Photography by Gerry Frederick

The local watering hole

A frozen landscape can be wonderful to look at with all the snow and ice creating artistic interpretations everywhere you look. It seems to get even more intense when the snow is still falling. Like photography, the snow is just a snap shot of the moment. Changing with every snow flake or ice droplet. As great as this can be to witness through the viewfinder it can be rather blah. Little contrast and very few highlights. This is when the true artistic eye inside has to take over. It is sure to be different for everyone. For me it’s a momentary thing. I either like what I see or I don’t. Panning with camera to face is the only way for me to tell if I like or I don’t. Kinda like I don’t trust my eyes with out a camera lens to filter what is really out there. Saturday was one of those days. No sun to help me just fresh snow and lots more coming down. Thanks to the woodpecker for saving my trek through the snow looking for a photo-op.

8 responses

  1. How I miss the snow … 20 odd years in Ohio will do that. I love the first shot the best, simplistic but really great! The Pileated Woodpecker looks so out of place to me with all the snow around. It’s a wonder there are enough grubs and othr things for her to eat! Great post and thanks for sharing!

    February 26, 2012 at 6:19 pm

  2. Love the grass in the snow!

    February 26, 2012 at 11:31 pm

  3. Stunning photographs. I too loved the first shot, but the Woodpecker surrounded by snow is a fascinating sight.

    February 27, 2012 at 5:03 am

  4. Great photos Gerry !!! My favorite is the grasses in the snow. All are well done!!!

    February 28, 2012 at 8:52 am

  5. Very nice pictures.

    March 1, 2012 at 2:19 pm

  6. niki

    Beautiful! the second and the last one are my favorites 🙂

    March 10, 2012 at 8:57 am

  7. I’ll chime in with the second shot as a favorite. It immediately got my attention. The woodpecker is a great shot too, but I really like the red berries as well. Great collection!

    March 18, 2012 at 11:41 am

  8. Grass in the snow, awesome pic!

    March 26, 2012 at 9:45 am

Leave a Reply

