Photography by Gerry Frederick

How better to illustrate the cold

The older I get the less tolerant I am to the small things like extreme cold and frost biting wind. How ever my craving to capture something with my camera that pleases me is often times overwhelming. With all the preparations I care to take I still find these outdoor winter photography jaunts more than demanding. I can remember when I was 35 years younger and skiing right until they threw us off the hill. I have no recollection of ever being cold skiing the Colorado mountains in my youth but after a couple of hours in the cold trying to get an iconic photo or two it finally gets to me and I call it a day. Two weeks ago it was too warm and the ice was too soft and the mud too messy. Now it’s too cold at minus 20 celsius. The cold plays havoc with photography at the best of times. After framing a shot if you get too close to the lens while breathing you can fog it up. The wind chill makes it almost impossible to function without gloves. I guess if I can’t take the cold then I should stay in doors and shoot the birds out my kitchen window. Hopefully I’ll add a tougher layer of skin and get my sissy butt out there again this weekend. I did manage to get some photos of the mountain range not far from town last week.  As cold as it was shooting these wonderfull snowy mountains I can only guess as to how far below celsius is was near the peak. I’m glad my shutter remote works from my pocket.

6 responses

  1. Gorgeous shots!

    January 21, 2012 at 7:13 am

  2. Thank you, and thank you for taking the time to view my blog and to reply.
    Gerry

    January 21, 2012 at 10:27 am

  3. Wow Gerry!!! Fantastic!!! I think you are right…when we were younger the cold was not an issue…now just getting something out of the fridge requires a coat and gloves! Just kidding…I’m good till about the teens, then I wish I had heated gloves!

    January 23, 2012 at 7:11 am

  4. gerry fredercik jr

    nice works pops I love the shots.

    g

    January 23, 2012 at 11:14 am

  5. Thank you son. Glad you like them.
    Dad

    January 23, 2012 at 11:56 am

  6. Beautiful photographs, I’m sure worth the pain – especially as threatened global warming may deprive future generations of such wonderful sights and sensations of true cold.

    Theresa

    January 25, 2012 at 1:18 am

Leave a Reply

