Photography by Gerry Frederick

Out my kitchen window

Winter alters the photo opportunies here where the weather can be a big problem for outdoor photographers. I still make several trips each week to favorite spots but often find the snow too deep or the ice too thin to get the shot I want. This last few weeks it has been mud and wind. Just weather, just winter. Not enough cold to get the ice and snow I’m looking for and shorter days cutting into the general time available. I guess because it is such a addiction of mine I still make every effort to photograph something.

10 responses

  1. Wow! These pictures are sooo beautiful! What camera and lens are you using?

    January 6, 2012 at 10:04 am

  2. Thank you for taking the time to look over my blog. I use Canon camera’s I have 3 – 50D,XTi and a 20D. I utilize many lens from kit lines (15/55) to (100/300 Canon “L”) and even tug along a large Tamron 200/400 for some of the more distant subjects or photos that I want to just get mmore of. Thanks again
    Gerry

    January 6, 2012 at 12:00 pm

  3. Great images of the birds. Just wonderful. 🙂

    January 6, 2012 at 3:34 pm

  4. Super photos Gerry, snow and ice or the lack of can present challenges but when we look around there is always something to photograph!

    January 8, 2012 at 8:40 am

  5. sandy

    I sure like your work.

    January 8, 2012 at 9:11 am

    • Thank you for taking the time to look over my photos. I’m grateful.
      Gerry

      January 8, 2012 at 10:45 am

  6. Really nice work! I love that you give us the big pictures – I feel like I’m holding the birds in my hand!

    January 20, 2012 at 10:22 pm

  7. I especially love your first shot. You captured that moment so well 🙂

    February 3, 2012 at 11:21 am

  8. littlebangtheory

    Really nice close-ups, Gerry. Are they from your Tamron or Canon lens? Do you notice much difference in the image quality between the two? The Canon is so spendy, and I really need something in that focal length range…

    March 27, 2012 at 5:58 am

    • Thank you for the comment. The lens that is on my 50D most of the time is the Tamron 200/400. It is a great (cheap) lens. The Canon 100/300 has great glass but is slow focusing. I get better results from the Tamron when I manually focus. How ever the lens that I find myself using as a point and shoot lens is the Canon kit lens 55/250 is. You can’t beat it for speed and price. I saw one used at B&H for under $200. I would suggest giving that a try before spending more. I paid around $400 each for the big Tamrom and the canon.
      Gerry

      March 27, 2012 at 8:23 am

Leave a Reply

