Photography by Gerry Frederick

Light even when you can’t see it

Winter can make finding good photographic subjects more difficult. Most of the color is drained from the outdoor landscape. No wild flowers, much fewer animals and most everything is covered with snow or ice. I walked around the wild life sanctuary not far from home today looking for something that would catch my eye. I have a new camera that I am eager to put through its pases. All I could see was the wonderful white landscape of a frozen lake where a giant world of teaming wildlife once stirred. On my way back to the car I noticed a fine beam of light glowing off a dead weed capped with some fresh snow. As I turned I could see hundreds of photos of back-lit weeds and dead grass as the sun found a small window through the clouds. No animals but after paying more attention to the available light I found the subjects that I didn’t even know were there.

4 responses

  1. I tweeted this post and said ” dreaming of a white Christmas” I’m sure we will have a green one here down in the southern end of the USA. I love the third picture in your post, I know it’s snow but if it were a stand alone picture I might think it were mud. Very neat capture!

    December 18, 2011 at 10:58 am

  2. Thank you for noticing. Our mud froze weeks ago. But there are a few good landscapes to be found. Just have to bundle up first. Thanks again. Gerry

    December 18, 2011 at 11:21 am

  3. A lovely closeup – the snow is a fine touch. Wish we had snow here, it’s been far too mild. I’m looking forward to the cold weather – snow simplifies the landscape.

    December 18, 2011 at 9:45 pm

  4. Beautiful shots of light, I particularly like the shot of the grass with snow on it!

    January 10, 2012 at 8:05 am

Leave a Reply

