Photography by Gerry Frederick

Chasing bugs

resting on a flower

Wildlife photography is so much more involved than say landscapes or studio work. Most of the time you come home empty because there was nothing to shoot. This time of year there are a lot of cool colorful insects around along with all the bothersome ones. This day I was out with some friends and planned on shooting what ever came my way. I had little expectations of getting the money shot of a Grizzly bear but I thought I would get something out near a secluded river. What I did find were some great insects near the picnic table…

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
3 responses

  1. Hi Gerry. Thanks for the “like” on my recent Blog Post. Good start here. Love “Along for the Ride.” I know what you mean about wildlife photography. I have a few wildlife images in my portfolio, but never really got it going. In fact, I sold my one long lens (300 f2.8 Tokina) to my buddy last year. It takes incredible time, patience and work to achieve truly great wildlife images. Looks like you have some! Looking forward to seeing more of your blog over time.

    July 31, 2011 at 9:49 am

  2. These are some terrific shots. Macro photography is probably my favorite thing to do. Wildlife is so unpredictable and you have to be ready in an instant to get that shot. I love photographing ‘nature’ in general, getting shots of things we take for granted or really just don’t pay much attention to. I want to make people stop a moment, pause and see things they usually miss. You sure did that here, with these great insect shots. Thanks so much for sharing them!

    October 31, 2011 at 6:20 pm

  3. Wow, I am so impressed. Your photos are wonderful, and you are so lucky to live near a wildlife sanctuary to provide you with such wonderful subjects. I am very envious!

    November 10, 2011 at 6:29 pm

Leave a Reply

